## 118TH CONGRESS 1ST SESSION S. RES.

Congratulating the Florida State University Seminoles for winning the 2023 Atlantic Coast Conference Football Championship.

## IN THE SENATE OF THE UNITED STATES

Mr. Scott of Florida (for himself and Mr. Rubio) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on \_\_\_\_\_

## RESOLUTION

- Congratulating the Florida State University Seminoles for winning the 2023 Atlantic Coast Conference Football Championship.
- Whereas, on December 2, 2023, the Florida State University Seminoles football team won the 2023 Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) Football Championship;
- Whereas this marks a conference-leading 16th ACC Football Championship that the Seminoles have won since they joined the ACC in 1992;
- Whereas the Seminoles defeated the nationally-ranked University of Louisville football team in the 19th ACC Football Championship game;
- Whereas the Seminoles finished the regular season undefeated for the sixth time in program history;

- Whereas the Seminoles were 1 of only 3 undefeated Power Five conference teams in America.
- Whereas this marks the 109th ACC title for Florida State University Seminoles Athletics;
- Whereas the Seminoles led all schools with 8 Seminoles players selected to the ACC All-Conference First Team;
- Whereas the Seminoles led all schools with 17 ACC All-Conference selections on the first, second, and third teams;
- Whereas Seminoles quarterback Jordan Travis—
  - (1) earned the 2023 ACC Football Player of the Year award; and
  - (2) earned the 2023 ACC Offensive Player of the Year award;

## Whereas Seminoles Head Coach Michael Norvell—

- (1) won his first ACC Football Championship in only his fourth season as head coach; and
- (2) is only the fourth coach in program history to finish the regular season undefeated;
- Whereas the Seminoles were the only undefeated Power Five Conference Champion to ever be left out of the playoffs;
- Whereas the Seminoles were never ranked lower than fifth in any College Football Playoff rankings;
- Whereas the Seminoles were jumped in the final College Football Playoff rankings by 2 teams with 1 loss despite the Seminoles having an undefeated record;
- Whereas for the first time in the 10-year history of the College Football Playoffs system, 2 teams below the top 6 in the penultimate rankings each made an unprecedented jump of 4 spots to make the playoffs in the final rankings;

Whereas the 13-member College Football Playoff Selection Committee has continually operated under an opaque structure and decision-making process during its 10-year history, culminating in the unprecedented decision to leave out the undefeated Seminoles from the playoffs;

Whereas the College Football Playoff Selection Committee failed to adhere to its own College Football Playoff Selection Committee Protocols and Guiding Principles during the selection process;

Whereas the College Football Playoff Selection Committee did not follow its own precedent, such as when in 2014 the Committee admitted a 1-loss team into the playoffs, despite starting and winning its conference championship game with a third-string quarterback;

Whereas, despite facing substantial adversity throughout the entire season and the loss of numerous key players to injuries, the Seminoles finished the season undefeated and as the ACC Football Champions; and

Whereas the entire Seminoles roster, the coaches, and the support staff should be recognized for their outstanding season and contributions to an outstanding season: Now, therefore, be it

- 1 Resolved, That the Senate—
- 2 (1) congratulates the Florida State University
- 3 football team, and the students, alumni, faculty,
- 4 staff, and trustees of Florida State University, for
- 5 winning the 2023 Atlantic Coast Conference Foot-
- 6 ball Championship and completing an undefeated
- 7 season; and

1	(2) respectfully directs the Secretary of the
2	Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolu-
3	tion to—
4	(A) the President of Florida State Univer-
5	sity, Richard McCullough;
6	(B) the Athletic Director of Florida State
7	University, Michael Alford; and
8	(C) the Head Coach of the Florida State
9	University football team, Michael Norvell.